It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 9:34 am

Board index » Tech and Fab » Parts Fabrication

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Ideas and opinions
PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:18 am 

First off, im curious if anyone has fabricated their own suspension seats and how difficult is it... I am a budget builder that would rather make something myself if i can than pay someone else unless its a total pain in the... well you know. Second I would like some opinions on floor pan material, currently i have somewhat thick aluminum floor and it has taken a beating but seems to be a costly option, opinions appreciated on steel, aluminum, and cheese grater floors (stretch steel). Thanks folks

Post subject: Re: Ideas and opinions
PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:37 am 
WoodsBuggy Addict

expanded metal (stretch steel) will do just like you said, act as a cheese grater. Lots of friction when dragging over something, and fling dirt up at ya.
Might try some Ultra High Molecular Weight (UHMW) Polyethylene, Some crawlers use it in 1/2" or 3/4". Really slick and super tough from what I hear. 3/8" thick supposedly fine for regular buggy though. Way cheaper than alum diamond plate. Always wanted to try some, just installin a different floor is way down on my priority list :wink: .

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:09 pm 

Never thought of Polyethelene since i work with it every day lol, My only thought with it is on occasion we go play in the dead of winter and polyethelene gets brittle at low temperatures. Exellent thought thought for overall weight and durability, i may look into it a little closer, was thinking the cheese grater for cleaning out, currently solid aluminum floors with sides takes forever to get all the Wellsville out of it at the end of the weekend lol.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:20 pm 
BOTM Winner

I have a .063 alum floor on the race buggy and .100 alum floor on the woods buggy. The .063 is too thin, but the .100 looks promising :mrgreen: