It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 11:29 am

Board index » General » Buggy Builds

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Hunter's Buggy Build
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 3:46 pm 

Well for those of you who don't know me, I'm Hunter71495 or Ryan. I have been on this site for a little over a month i believe, and on just on Tuesday i bought a buggy frame + some parts.

I plan of the buggy being done by Mid June to race in a local race. Since I am using this buggy fir racing, I HAVE RULES AND REGULATIONS TO FOLLOW. Since i used a good deal of the money i had saved up, i not really in the position to be spending a lot of money for a little while. Since i am a high school student, and work a part time job, money will come in a bit slowly.

Right now i want to do small stuff that needs to be done, but doesn't cost alot of money. Some such stuff is the paint-spray paint(in spots i need to touch up/where the paint chipped) and another is the brake lights(got busted off in last race) and other little stuff. I took 220 grit metal sandpaper to the tree bars/spots and just took off a little paint and other debris so i have a smooth surface. Eventually I'm going to spray paint it black(where needed). Today i took off the brake lights (broken to hell) and am going to replace them with trailer brake lights(the old lights where these type). The lights were wired up for just the stopping and turning function i believe. Two wires red and black, red-stop and turning, black-tail function??? I have no idea what the black does, but am just going to hook up the red like the previous owner had done. It will be fine since its not for roadway use. Give me your opinion.

Also i recently bought a Car tranny, 4 axles,4 cv's for $200 from the previous owner. My buggy has the car tranny mount points already in it, and that's what the old owner ran so we know the cv's and axles will work.