It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 5:18 pm

Board index » Tech and Fab » Water Cooled Engines

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:46 pm 

Newbie here. But what engine do you look for? I know you need the computer and wiring harness.
Looking to do trail riding and mildly stupid stuff.
Sorry if this has been asked before.
Thanks.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 1:58 pm 

At the top of the Water Cooled Engines section is a sticky with all sorts of information on the Ecotec. Tons of info available on both engines between this site and a few others. The subaru seems to take a little more work but they both have their benefits.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:22 pm 
WoodsBuggy Addict

Todd wrote:
Newbie here.
Looking to do trail riding and mildly stupid stuff.

You will fit in just fine,lol. And a lot of w/c guys on here that just love to talk about how awesome and cheap their stuff is. :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol: . Chad :mrgreen:

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:56 pm 
WB Contributor

Yeah, The AC guys like to rib us Water cooled guys. I can't help it that I like to turn the key and drive. I tuned enough carbs in my life to warrant fuel injection. Not to mention that I burn about half the fuel the AC guys do to go the same distance. But if you like the sound of lifters and valve train you really must build a big bad stroker VW motor. I like my salvage Honda 3.2, 265 horse from the factory.

If you ask me the Echotec is the most cost effective, get a supercharged Cobalt SS and they scream.

Just a Water Cooled guys opinion. :mrgreen:

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 4:33 pm 

Pretty good info at this link:

http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/archiv ... 422--.html