It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 8:00 pm

Board index » Tech and Fab » Transmissions

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 002 and 091 input shafts
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 9:56 pm 

I've been running a stock 002 3rib in my buggy with a untrimmed input shaft. Finally came across and was able too pick up a 091 6rib and a friend had mentioned trimming the 091 input shaft and using my 002 bell housing. My questions are
1) do I really need too trim the 091 input shaft and if so how much?
2) can I use the 002 bell housing and if so will it require any mods too the case or buggy?
3) if I do need too trim the 091, does a 002 need trimming also?

Sorry if I'm asking newb questions, this is my first buggy and I'm still learning.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:38 pm 
WoodsBuggy Addict

I have heard people say you do not need to trim the input shaft and I have heard people say that you need to trim the input shaft.

I ran an 002 bell housing on my 091 trans and I cut 1/4 inch off the input shaft. The 002 bell housing will bolt directly to the 091 trans and your engine will bolt directly to the trans. After you swap your bell housing, you will need to match your starter to the bell housing. If you use a 3 rib bell housing, you will need to use a 3 rib starter.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:48 pm 

And the 091 is longer so u will need to put spacer in between bell and motor mount plate where it bolts to horns

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:53 pm 

A type 1 starter will also work with 002

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 7:40 am