It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 2:28 am

Board index » Tech and Fab » Transmissions

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: bus to car question
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 10:14 pm 

im very new to the vw scene so i hope this isent a silly question.I was told that to mate a 2000cc bus motor to a car trans for a street buggy,all i had to purchase was a special flywheel.Is that correct?

Post subject: Re: bus to car question
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 11:03 pm 
WoodsBuggy Addict

I am not sure... I would think your would not need to change anything... The bigger question is why? Putting a 2000cc engine on a car Trans is just a bad idea.. At least swap the Trans for a 3 rib..

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 11:08 pm 

thats the stuff i need to here from yall.Like i said still very new to vw.traded for a chenwth frame and had the trans and motor with it?So dont fool with it and upgrade the tran?

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 11:26 pm 
WoodsBuggy Addict

1st off.. Welcome to the sight.. There are no silly questions.. Just ask and someone will normally jump in..

As for the car trans.. You will not find many of them in use anymore.. A car trans is significantly weaker than a bus trans and you can usually find a used bus trans for $350. There are three basic types of Bus Trans. 3 rib, 5 rib and 6 rib. The 6 rib is the strongest.

As for engines, do you have a water cooled bus engine? Most people do not bother with the water boxer engines. To much work and not enough power. There are much better water cooled options..

So what exactly did you trade for? That will help determine the best going forward strategy..

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 11:37 pm